Tyta luctuosa

walwyn Tue, 04/14/2009 - 21:35
Share this

Four Spotted Moth - Tyta luctuosa


Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Arthropoda
Class: Insecta
Order: Lepidoptera
Family: Noctuidea
Genus: Tyta
Species: T. luctuosa

Common name: Four Spotted Moth.
Wingspan: 22-25 mm.
Flight Period: May - August.
Food plant: Convolvulus arvensis.

Used as a biological control for its food plant Field Bindweed. Tyta luctuosa is the only member of the genus Tyta.