Catocala

walwyn Tue, 09/14/2021 - 22:39

 

The Catocala are a genus of moths in the Erebidae family of Noctuoidea.

John Needham Tomb - Litchborough Northamptonshire

walwyn Sun, 09/05/2021 - 21:18

Tomb of John Needham (d1618) in St Martin's church, Litchborough, Northamptonshire. The tomb was erected in 1633 by his wife after she remarried.

Marmousets Portal Tympanum - Saint-Ouen, Rouen

walwyn Tue, 08/10/2021 - 07:49

 

 

 

Constructed in around 1430, by Alexandre de Berneval, this sculpture dedicated to the Virgin is part of the tympanum above the Marmousets Portal at Saint Ouen in Rouen.

Tympanum - Saint-Maclou Rouen

walwyn Sun, 08/08/2021 - 16:24

 

 

The tympanum above the central porch, of Saint-Maclou in Rouen depicts Christ in Majesty at the Last Judgement in four registers.

Portail des Libraires - Rouen Cathedral

walwyn Wed, 08/04/2021 - 20:43

 

 

 

Quatrefoils dated 1278-1300, retelling Biblical stories carved around the Portail des Libraires of Rouen Cathedral.

Creation Spandrels - Bourges Cathedral

walwyn Mon, 08/02/2021 - 18:04

 

 

Decorated in about 1240 the spandrels below the north portal contain sculpures depicting the Creation.
 

Aelia

walwyn Wed, 07/14/2021 - 23:16

 

Aelia is a genus of shield bug in the Pentatomidae family.

Adoration of the Magi (cell 39)

walwyn Sun, 04/11/2021 - 22:01

 

 

Cell 39 on the second floor of the San Marco convent was reserved for Cosimo de Medici. The fresco on the wall is the Adoration of the Magi by Benozzo Gozzoli.

Tomb of Edward II - Gloucester Cathedral

walwyn Sat, 04/10/2021 - 22:03

 

 

This tomb of King Edward II of England (d1327) is situated in Gloucester Cathedral. It  was commissioned by Edward III in 1336 and built in the early part of the 1340s.

Tomb of Louse of Stolberg-Gedern - San Croce, Florence

walwyn Fri, 04/09/2021 - 21:32

 

 

 

This tomb of Princess Louse of Stolberg-Gedern (d1824) is situated in San Croce Florence

Pages