Apamea

walwyn Thu, 08/25/2016 - 01:11

 

Apamea is a genus of moths in the family Noctuidae.

Erynnis

walwyn Sun, 05/01/2016 - 18:12

 

Erynnis is a genus of butterflies in the Hesperiidae family, with about 30 species.

Eurydema

walwyn Sat, 04/30/2016 - 22:54

 

A genus of shieldbugs in the Pentatomidae family.

 

Chiasmia

walwyn Sun, 01/17/2016 - 23:20

 

Chiasmia is a genus of moths in the Geometridae family.

 

Agriphila

walwyn Fri, 01/15/2016 - 22:57

 

Agriphila is a genus of grass moths in Cambridae family.

 

Oncocera

walwyn Wed, 01/13/2016 - 00:13


 
Oncocera is a genus of moths in the Pyralidae family.

Sympecma

walwyn Tue, 01/12/2016 - 23:45

Sympecma is a genus of three species of damselflies in the Lestidae family. The adults of two of the species over winter and as such the genus is commonly known as the Winter Damselflies.

Araschnia

walwyn Sat, 01/09/2016 - 20:22


 
Araschnia is a genus of butterflies in the Nymphalidae family. This genus can have marked differences between the early and later broods.

Crucifixion Frescoes by Fra Angelico - Cells San Marco Florence

walwyn Fri, 12/18/2015 - 22:06

 

 

Crucifixion frescoes by Fra Angelico in the monk cells at San Marco monastery in Florence. These images are mainly in the cells for novices and were painted between 1438 and 1443 by Fra Angelico and his apprentices.

Timarcha

walwyn Thu, 08/28/2014 - 19:44


 
The Timarcha are a genera of beetles in the Chrysomelidae family. Commonly called Bloody Nosed Beetles for their ability to produce a noxious orange-red fluid from their mouths when disturbed.
 
 

Pages